This Adult Thing is Working Out

Turning 18, graduating from high school, and living somewhere besides my parents’ house had not completely assured me I’m an adult. It wasn’t until today that I realized that there have been signs that I really am an adult and it’s working out.

1. Buying My Parents Dinner

With my first paycheck of the summer, I took my mom, dad, and grandma out to dinner. When you slap your credit card down to pay for dinner, a feeling a pride overcomes with being able to cover the bill and tip.

Dinner at The Flying Fork Café

2. Trading My Dream Vehicle for a Smarter Choice

Yesterday, I drove out of the Turner Automotive lot watching my F-150 get smaller and smaller in the rearview mirror. All throughout high school I always dreamed of owning a pickup. Finally April of my senior year, I purchased a 2006 F-150; I was living the dream. However, the poor gas mileage that would cost for $200 in gas to drive home and back to college dimmed my love for it. When I accepted the internship with Montrose County Extension, commuting 120 miles daily added up to quite a large fuel bill. After driving my mom’s Toyota Corolla for a few weeks, convincing me that sitting on the ground compared to semis next to me isn’t so bad and being able to zip into just about any parking lot finally altered my mind. Within a week of officially looking for a new car, I purchased a 2012 Chevrolet Cruze.

2012 Chevy Cruze

3. Balancing My Checkbook is a Common Habit

Becoming more involved in collegiate organizations, it is amazing how many people don’t keep a record of their expenses or balance a checkbook. I keep every receipt from my credit card and enter them into Quicken every few days, then balance my records monthly with the monthly statement from my bank. It feels like overkill most days because the total balance always matches up (of course once in a while I type in the wrong amount so have a difference of $0.25). But keeping track makes me feel more assured of my financials and confident that I can pay any bills.

Taking the family out to dinner, buying a more economical car, and keep good financial records are aspects of adulthood for me and it’s working out quite well. This isn’t Neverland, but I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.

2 thoughts on “This Adult Thing is Working Out

  1. Codi: I am so proud of you. Two of our kids have still not achieved the adult status you have shown~ It was fun to be with you Saturday and you are Beautiful! Inside & out! Hugs, Suzanne & Lee

  2. I am proud of you. You are making wise choices which has the making of a successful career. I appreciate you sharing thoughts in this way. I love you!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

