Clothed in Confidence

It’s common to see people walk across campus in sweats. More commonly are girls wearing leggings, over-sized shirts, and hair in a messy bun. I get up at 6:45 each morning to shower, style my hair, apply some make-up, and dress nicely. You never know when you are going to meet a future employer… or husband…

Today I have my Basic Video Production presentation and told business casual was not necessary but to look nice. So decided on a blazer with boots and jeans (this is one of the few times I wish I had an iron the press my jeans to have a crisp look, but only washed works too). What started as smiling all morning, striking up a conversation with a stranger in the elevator, and handout papers in my Agricultural Leadership class, I noticed I am more confident in myself. The constant smiling and offering to be in front of the class are not always common for when on a daily basis. I am connecting this outgoing happiness to the blazer.

A person who feels more confident in themselves is more likely to go outside their comfort zone. By dressing nicer than usual with the added blazer, I gained more confidence to step outside my comfort zone and be the person in front of the people I look up to.

Wearing my favorite blazer for Video Production presentation today. Of course it is hot pink with cheetah print and gold cuffs.

Wearing my favorite blazer for Basic Video Production presentation today. Of course, it is hot pink with cheetah print and gold cuffs.

Dressing a notch above gives me more confidence in myself. Does this include the confidence in myself as a student to do better on exams than if I was dressed in a t-shirt and Sperry’s? With two 8 am finals coming up, I will be putting this theory to the test; dress better, do better. I may not be wearing a blazer and slacks, but my hair will be done up and unwrinkled top on.

2 thoughts on “Clothed in Confidence

  1. You are RIGHT ON Baby! One of the first things we tell Cancer patients is “Look good, feel better!”. You have proved it!!! We are all so proud of you and LOVE the look! Good luck on finals! Prayers are with you! Suzanne

Leave a Reply

