Horses, Zumba, Dresses, and Elections

Horses as Far as the Eye Can See

Friday started out with a 45 minutes delay before a three-hour van ride to the 6666 Ranch in Guthrie, Texas. The WTAMU Block and Bridle Club received a personal tour of the horse breeding program from Kelly, the lady in charge of all the studs. An elaborate set-up with countless barns was an eye-opening sight to someone who knows little about horses. Check out all the photos in the gallery at the end of this post.

Boots to Nikes

Thirty minutes to change from square-toed boots to Nikes once I was back in Canyon was all I had before helping with Relay for Life. As a member of the WTAMU Agricultural team, we raised over $500 for the American Cancer Society.

Thank you to all who donated as a supporter of me. I walked over 15,000 steps, losing count of the number of laps. After Zumba at 12:30 am and knowing I had to be up at 7 am to go to Lubbock, I passed the responsibility of walking to another team member. My intention was to walk until 6 am but thought a bridesmaid should be alert and in a happy mood when the bride is trying on wedding dresses (No, I don’t have an engagement ring on my left hand).

One of my professors told me the Relay For Life takes places at night so people can understand in a way the dark and lonely moments cancer patients go through. Walking at 3 am when it’s cold and windy does not replicate the emotions and feelings patients have, but people can gain a sense of the emotional and physical struggle that exists. For this reason looking back, I wish I would have walked all night. The next Relay for Life I participate in, I will be walking at 3 am in the cold and wind.

The most emotional moment of the night for me was at 10 pm with the Luminaria Lighting Ceremony. Bagpipes played ‘Amazing Grace’ as the as all participants walked the lap together in silence. Remembering how blessed I am to have a small scare with my health when there are so many others who are less fortunate cause me to be misty eyed.

Say Yes to The Dress

Back to the whole wedding dress shopping comment, Joanna (who I took the proposal photos of) asked me to be a bridesmaid. I, of course, said yes. No time has been wasted, as the wedding is July 25.

The 36 hours in Lubbock included finding Joanna’s dress, the bridesmaids’ dresses, and some decorations.

A Miller is Finally President

My crazed weekend concluded to only begin an even busier week on Monday night when I was elected as the 2015/2016 WTAMU Block and Bridle President. Experience and knowledge from 4-H and high school class offices will help me, but leading a collegiate organization is daunting.

Block and Bridle was represented at the President’s Council meeting, The Handsome Man Morning Show, WTAMU Country Night, and Discover WT this morning. The club also has an open horse show May 2. So much for watching Ace of Cakes on Netflix anytime soon.

With finals coming up and doing all bridesmaid duties possible before I leave Texas, sleeping past 7 am and going to bed before midnight are no longer options. I say I can never get busier but always find ways to.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

