New Hobby on the Rise

College and balance issues have kept me away from cattle, so I have been looking for a new hobby. Something to get my mind off of classes and escape the hectic schedule. I took a photography class in high school, then Intro to Mass Communications and Media Design have incorporated photography too. My degree also highlighting photography all has led me to look into photography seriously, as a hobby too.

People say a hobby is supposed to be completely separate from your daily life; in those terms photography couldn’t be my hobby. Training goldfish isn’t really plausible, nor is collecting stamps high on my list, so photography it is!

While looking up the scientific name for soybeans (it’s Glycine max L if you were wondering) I stumbled upon (literally used the app Stumbled Upon) and found a photographer’s website. Trey Ratcliff does High Dynamic Range Photography, “post-processing task of taking either one image or a series of images, combining them, and adjusting the contrast ratios.” After 45 minutes of looking through his portfolio and pinning some of my favorite shots (Bryce Canyon National Park at sunset and the field of sunflowers are my top two) I realized I want to pursue photography seriously as a hobby and I should probably get back to studying for Plant Science with an exam coming up tomorrow.

Reading about copyright rules in Media Design has me hesitating on copying/posting his photographs, so give his portfolio a view – forewarning – you will need more than a few minutes to look at them all

One thought on “New Hobby on the Rise

Leave a Reply

