Why Blog? Why Now?

After many repeated emails, texts, phone calls, and whatnot, I wanted to find an easier way to share updates amongst people; thus I decided to blog.

Now anyone who is interested can check in on my latest news and learn the accurate information. Hopefully blogging is the answer…

The support from Buena Vista, Salida, surrounding areas, and even from people and places I am not aware is amazing and I cannot thank everyone enough for the thoughts and prayers! I never imagined my life would take these turn of events, but I am always looking for the positives – there are more than just a few!

After starting the steroids two weeks ago to reduce to symptoms of the brain tumor, I feel “normal” again. Since then, for the first time in over a year, I feel great each morning and want to get up in the mornings. I can balance on one foot again, no longer run into objects, drink water without randomly choking; all these little actions I took for granted were just me and ignored. Now that I feel great, I am cooking lots, helping my parents much more than I used to, and going to hike to the top of Sleeping Indian Mountain tomorrow.

I am still waiting for the p53 genetic mapping results, but very confident the results will be negative so hope to begin my radiation treatment next week. This will consist of 30 radiation sessions which are 20-minute sessions five days a week at University of Colorado Denver Anschutz Medical Campus. I will be an out-patient, meaning I will have plenty of time to tour Denver and see what all the capitol of Colorado has to offer. After a trip to the City Market in Aspen last summer and seeing all the different products that were for sale, I will be easily entertained simply “window shopping”.  Pictures and short stories of these adventures with my family or friends will be shared – who knows what we may find!

Please feel free to leave comments or ask questions, continue to call, email, or text. It’s always great to talk!

2 thoughts on “Why Blog? Why Now?

Leave a Reply

